LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic provides access to over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
Free Alternatives to WestLaw & Lexis
- Casemaker is a legal research system which is available free to current members of 28 state bar assocations, including WASHINGTON.
- Public Library of Law, free, this database includes 50-state and federal case law databases like Federal District, Bankruptcy, and Tax Courts and Federal and state statutes and regulations.
Legal Dictionaries
- FindLaw.com Legal Dictionary
- LexisNexis Academic Legal Dictionaries & Usage GuidesSelect the Dictionary folder to see all the titles available.
Washington State, Counties & Cities
- King County Courts, Codes & Law
- Municipal Research and Services Center (MRSC)This page provides links to Web sites for cities and towns in the State of Washington.
- Washington Association of Prosecuting AttorneysWAPA's library of manuals
- Washington Courts Find Court Dates, with case summaries and, where applicable, calendar information and a list of case activities (docket). Search cases by case Number, person name or business name.
- Washington State Legislature Search the RCW, WAC, Bills or WSR (Register) filing.
Federal
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Medicare and Medicaid Regulations, Guidance, Manuals, Legislation, Policies and More.
Federal Administrative Agency Decisions & Other Actions Can be searched by agency or by subject. Availability of material varies by agency.
FedStats Portal to statistics from more than 100 U.S. Federal Agencies. FedStats can be used to find statistics on many topics without knowing in advance which particular agency has jurisdiction over that topic.
GPO Access Full‑text access to the CFR (back to 1996), Federal Register (back to 1994), Congressional Record (back to 1994) and other government documents from the Government Printing Office.
Official U.S. Code Search Titles are equivalent to the 2006 edition and annual supplements.
Openjurist.org Open Jurist is a resource for access to the case law of the United States. The collection includes opinions from the United States Supreme Court - beginning in 1754 when it was known as the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania; and the Federal Appellate Courts - beginning in 1880. It currently contains a total of approximately 647,000 opinions.
THOMAS Primary online source for federal legislative material. Contains new public laws, pending bills, status of bills, committee reports and hearings. Full text of legislation available from 1989 (101st Congress) to present. Depth of other material varies -- some items, including public laws, are earlier in scope. Very current.
USA.gov Provides one‑stop access to all online U.S. government resources (local, state and federal). Includes topical arrangements, a useful A-Z list of government agencies and departments and Spanish translation of several web pages.
Free Court Dockets
- Freecourtdockets.comFree access to over 33 million court case dockets.
- Nationwide U.S. District Civil Court Dockets
- Nationwide U.S. District Criminal Court Dockets
- Nationwide U.S. Bankruptcy Court Dockets
- U.S. Supreme Court
- U.S. Federal Court of Claims and International Court of Trade
- U.S. Courts of Appeals coming soon
Legal Info Portals
- Legal Information Institute from Cornell University Law School The Legal Information Institute (LII) is a research and electronic publishing activity of the Cornell Law School.
- Duke Law School LibraryCompilation of legal information resources from the law librarians at Duke.
Loading...
