This is the "Home" page of the "Image, Photo & Video Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Image, Photo & Video Libraries   Tags: featured  

A list of web-based, digital image & photo libraries. It includes large, general and smaller, subject-specific libraries.
Last Updated: Mar 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.fhcrc.org/imagelibraries Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Medical Image Libraries

  • AnatQuest: Anatomic Images Online
    Search the National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project's high resolution, cryosectional color images for human anatomy, plus three-dimensional rendered images of anatomic objects
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
    Seach photographs, illustratons, and videos under headins such as Influensa, Natural Disasters, Bioterrorism, and Electron Micrographic Imagery. Additional topics are suggested for each of eight user categories ranging from health care providers and public health practitioners to students and consumers. Most images are in the public domain.
  • Heal Education Assests Library
    This digital library of more than 22,000 freely accessible digital teaching resources for health sciences include both its own peer-reviewed collection plus affiliate collections from other digital libraries.
  • Jena Library of Biological Macromolecules
    The Jena Library of Biological Macromolecules (JenaLib) is aimed at a better dissemination of information on three-dimensional biopolymer structures with an emphasis on visualization and analysis. It provides access to all structure entries deposited at the Protein Data Bank (PDB) or at the Nucleic Acid Database (NDB). In addition, basic information on the architecture of biopolymer structures is available.
  • MedPix Medical Image Database
    James Smirniotopoulos, chair, Radiology and Radiological Sciences, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, Bethesda, MD, developed this resource based on a database of 29,000 images from more than 7,000 real-life cases. Included are peer-reviewed teaching files, an imaging atlas, and decision support tools.
  • OR-Live
    Watch surgery live or browse the archives of past procedures.
  • The Online Macromolecular Museum Exhibits
    The Online Macromolecular Museum (OMM) is a site for the display and study of macromolecules.
  • TRIP Database
    Best known as a resource for evidence-based medicine, TRIP's searchable content also includes medical images and patient information leaflets.
  • UpToDate Graphics
    UpToDate® new graphics search provides quick and easy access to nearly 25,000 authoritative graphics, including pictures, tables, illustrations, diagrams, graphs, algorithms and movies. With UpToDate graphics search, you can quickly find trusted graphics without needing other search engines.
    To use, select "Graphics" in the search box or in the left hand navigation to view graphics only search results

Large Image Libraries

  • Google Images
    What you'll find in this library:
    Photographs, Illustrations, Graphics, Charts, Graphs, Etc. This searches images across the web, so use descriptive, specific terms when searching. Use " " to enclose phrases for more precise search results. For example, "lee hartwell" retrieves 2,400+ hits, while lee and hartwell retrieve 66,000+.
    Usage rights:
    Rights vary widely, use caution when reusing images.
  • Springer Images  
      
    What you'll find in this library:
    The free library includes over 300,000 scientific images, tables, charts and graphs spanning all scientific subjects. Gain access to more than 3 million images with an individual subscription.
    Usage Rights:
    Who is the copyright owner for each image on SpringerImages? Who can use SpringerImages.com and how can images be used?
    Please click the "more information" button for details.
  • Centre for Bioscience, the Higher Education Academy, ImageBank
    What you'll find in this library:
    The subjects covered by the Centre for Bioscience ImageBank reflects that of the Centre for Bioscience’s remit and covers the diverse range of disciplines within the life, biomedical, food and agricultural sciences.
    Usage Rights:
    Images and text may only be freely downloaded and used for learning and teaching purposes within educational establishments (HE, FE and schools) for non-profit purposes.
  • Life Magazine at Google
    What you'll find in this library:
    Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
    Usage Rights:
    For personal non-commercial use only

Image Search Engines

  • Compfight
    Compfight is an image search engine tailored to efficiently locate images for blogs, comps, inspiration, and research. We make good use of the flickr™ API, but aren't affiliated with flickr.
  • Cooliris.com
    The Cooliris plugin transforms searches across Google Images, Bing, Flickr, Hulu, YouTube, Amazon and others into a beautiful, interactive 3D wall. It’s a fast way to browse images and video, for shopping, entertainment, and beyond. Results can be enlarged, saved, shared, and played within the application.
  • SpaceTime.com
    Originally a 3D browser, SpaceTime is now a visual search engine. Using Flash, you can browse a “cover flow” sequence of results from Google, Images, Wikipedia, or YouTube. You can’t play videos within search results, but it’s a handy way to identify the clip or scene you’re looking for.
  • Spezify.com
    Search Spezify for a Flash-based mixed-media visual collage of results. Spezify also helps you focus your search with hot searches and related words. Drawing equally from blogs, videos, images, music, tweets, and more, Spezify gives a diverse overview of any given subject that is useful and fun to navigate.

Subject-Specific Image Libraries

  • American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank  
      
    What you'll find in this library:
    Images are presented in a digital, case-based format that allows both the images and text to be searched, cross-referenced, and hyper-linked to other cases as well as other educational resources, including Hematology, the Society's annual meeting Education Program Book, the ASH Teaching Cases & the syllabus from the ASH Self-Assessment Program. In addition to the case studies, the Image Bank also includes a collection of basic atlas images.
  • Images from the History of Medicine  
      
    What you'll find in this library:
    Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
  • NCI Visuals Online  
      
    What you'll find in this library:
    NCI Visuals Online contains images from the collections of the Office of Communications and Education and Office of Media Relations, National Cancer Institute. Contents include general biomedical and science-related images, cancer-specific scientific and patient care-related images, and portraits of directors and staff of the National Cancer Institute. Visuals Online currently provides public access to 1,998 images.
  • USDA Photo/Image Library  
      
    What you'll find in this library:
    * Animals
    * Crops
    * Education
    * Field research
    * Fruits & veggies
    * Illustrations
    * Insects
    * Lab research
    * Plants
  • Atlas of the Body (Human)
    From the AMA, this is a patient education tool. It illustrates organs, systems and entries can be emailed or printed.
 

TinEye - Reverse Image Search

TinEye uses image identification technology. Given an image to search for, TinEye tells you where and how that image appears all over the web—even if it has been modified.

Videos

  • Academic Earth
    Free online video courses from leading universities.
  • AOL Video
  • Current.com
    Current.com is the place to find and share stories and videos that are interesting to you. It connects to Current TV, a global cable and satellite TV network.
  • FORA  
      
    We gather the web's largest collection of unmediated video drawn from live events, lectures, and debates going on all the time at the world's top universities, think tanks and conferences. We present this provocative, big-idea content for anyone to watch, interact with, and share --when, where, and how they want.
  • Free Science Lectures
  • Hulu.com
    Commercial and Nonprofit TV
  • iTunes U
    From portable computers and mobile devices to software and servers to iTunes U...Teachers are using iLife and iWork applications on the Mac to create customized educational materials, such as language lessons that students can listen to on the bus or at home. And with the help of tools like Podcast Producer and Wiki Server — both of which come with Mac OS X Server — IT professionals at your school can help you produce and distribute all kinds of multimedia content on iTunes U or a class wiki
  • Nature - Video from the Journal, Nature
  • PBS
  • TED.com
    TED is a small nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Since then its scope has become ever broader. Along with the annual TED Conference in Long Beach, California, and the TEDGlobal conference in Oxford UK, TED includes the award-winning TEDTalks video site, the Open Translation Program, the new TEDx community program, this year's TEDIndia Conference and the annual TED Pr
  • Video.Google.com
  • Vimeo.com
    From the beginning, Vimeo was created by filmmakers and video creators who wanted to share their creative work, along with intimate personal moments of their everyday life. As time went on, like-minded people came to the site and built a community of positive, encouraging individuals with a wide range of video interests. We hope that you feel inspired to show us both your creative side as well as your friendly side. Our team is based in New York and Portland.
  • Yahoo Video - Science & Environment Channel
  • YouTube Education Channel

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Arnold Library
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Mailstop: B1-010
phone: x.4314
fax: x.4737
Send Email
 

Digital Image Rights Computator (DIRC)


The Digital Image Rights Computator (DIRC) program is intended to assist
the user in assessing the intellectual property status of a specific image documenting a work of art, a designed object, or a portion of the built environment.

Understanding the presence or absence of rights in the
various aspects of a given image will allow the user to make informed
decisions regarding the intended educational uses of that image.

Learn how to use the DIRC.

Visualization Tools

  • Google Chart Tools
    What are Google Chart Tools?

    The Google Chart Tools enable adding live charts to any web page.

    The advantages of the Google Chart Tools are:

    * A rich gallery of visualizations provided as:
    o Image charts - using a simple URL request to a Google chart server
    o Interactive charts - using a Google developed JavaScript library
    * Can read live data from a variety of data sources
    * Simple to use and free
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip