News
Amsterdam, August 27th, 2010 - Elsevier and the Royal Tropical Institute (KIT) in Amsterdam announced on 26th of August the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding providing 150 researchers working in least-developed and low-income countries with access to ScienceDirect and Scopus...The new agreement will expand access for five years while sharing best practice in research and training...read more
Free Full-Text Journals
- BioMed CentralPublisher of 200 peer-reviewed open access journals
- Directory of Open Access JournalsThis service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 4358 journals in the directory. Currently 1656 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 314201 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
- Highwire Press' Free Online Full-text ArticlesHighWire Press is the largest archive of free full-text science on Earth! As of 9/22/09, we are assisting in the online publication of 1,936,617 free full-text articles and 6,101,128 total articles. There are 7 sites with free trial periods, and 47 completely free sites. 283 sites have free back issues, and 1187 sites have pay per view!
- Open Science Directory The Open Science Directory IOC/IODE, with the support of EBSCO and Hasselt University Library, is creating a unique access point to all the journals contained in several different programs.
- PubMed CentralPubMed Central (PMC), is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text of articles.
Programs for Journal Access in Developing Countries
Scholarly publishers and global organizations now offer scientists and medical personnel in developing countries discounted or free access to online scientific and biomedical journals. Learn more about these various programs by visiting these web sites:
- AGORA (Access to Global Online Research in Agriculture) The AGORA program, set up by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO) together with major publishers, enables developing countries to gain access to an outstanding digital library collection in the fields of food, agriculture, environmental science and related social sciences.
- BioMed Central's Open Access and the Developing World This website draws together the latest news and resources relating to open access and the developing world and highlights the most relevant peer-reviewed research from BioMed Central's open access journals.
- Highwire Press' Free Access to Developing Economies The following journals offer free online access to developing economies, based on either programs such as HINARI or AGORA, or on a HighWire-based program offering access to countries appearing in the World Bank's list of "low income economies," plus Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Djibouti, Georgia, Indonesia, Turkmenistan, and Ukraine.
- HINARI Access to Research InitiativeThe HINARI Programme, set up by WHO together with major publishers, enables developing countries to gain access to one of the world's largest collections of biomedical and health literature. Over 6400 journal titles are now available to health institutions in 108 countries, areas and territories benefiting many thousands of health workers and researchers, and in turn, contributing to improved world health.
- International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications INASP's work focuses on communication, knowledge and networks, with particular emphasis on the needs of developing and emerging countries.
- Research4LifeThe collective name for 3 public-private partnerships which seek to help achieve the UN’s Millennium Development Goals by providing the developing world with access to critical scientific & social science research. Beginning in 2002, Health Access to Research Initiative (HINARI); Access to Global Online Research in Agriculture (AGORA); and Online Access to Research in the Environment (OARE), have given 4,500 institutions in 108 developing countries free or low cost access to over 7,000 journal
Mobile Healthcare Apps
- NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in OncologyFree iPhone and Android apps
The NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology (NCCN Guidelines) – the recognized standard for clinical policy in oncology are comprehensive and frequently updated clinical practice guidelines. Covering 97 percent of all patients with cancer and updated on a continual basis, the NCCN Guidelines™ are developed through an explicit review of the evidence integrated with expert medical judgment by multidisciplinary panels from NCCN Member Institutions.
Nature Scitable
Scitable ia a
free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by
Nature Publishing Group, the world's leading publisher of science.
Video from Nova
AAAS Videos
Popular Science and Tech Videos via Hulu.com
Watch more free, complete popular Science and Technology videos on hulu.com online, such as:
Loading...
Nature Videos
Donate Books
- Books for AfricaBooks For Africa is the world’s largest shipper of donated books to the African continent. Since 1988, Books For Africa has shipped over 20 million high-quality text and library books to 45 African countries. Millions more are needed.
- Bridge to Asia Bridge to Asia is a San Francisco-based nonprofit organization that supports the modernization of higher education in developing countries in Asia, principally China. In our main effort, we provide books, journals, monographs, databases and other educational materials that are essential for teaching and research but too costly for most schools or scholars to afford.
- International Book Project Since 1966, the International Book Project has sent more than 5.8 million books abroad. The International Book Project is an international nonprofit whose mission is to promote education and literacy while broadening Americans' understanding of their neighbors by sending quality used books overseas.
- Operation Medical Libraries OML is a grass roots efforts whose mission is providing medical texts and journals to medical schools and hospitals in Iraq and Afghanistan. Originally founded as Books Without Borders, it started in April 2007 by Valerie Walker, Director of the UCLA Medical Alumni Association (MAA).
- Sudan-American Foundation for Education, Inc, (SAFE)Since 1985, we have delivered over 300,000 books to over 60 Sudanese libraries, colleges, universities and nongovernmental organizations. In addition, SAFE has sponsored various humanitarian projects for the benefit of displaced persons and children. SAFE operates entirely with volunteers. Officers, directors and others volunteer their services. There is no paid staff.
Non-English Health Info
- Cancer.gov en EspanolCancer prevention, education, treatment and research information for the public from the National Cancer Institute, in Spanish.
- EthnoMed EthnoMed contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to Seattle or the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.
- Health Information in Multiple LanguagesFind health information in languages other than English.
Courtesy of the National Library of Medicine. - Healthfinder.gov en EspanolHealthfinder.gov en español le ofrece la información más actualizada para que usted y sus seres queridos se mantengan saludables.
- Información en español from AHRQLos siguientes son los títulos de las publicaciones disponibles en español. Estos materiales fueron desarrollados por la Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Los títulos están vinculados con las publicaciones.
- King County Public Health Materials in Multiple LanguagesPublic Health - Seattle & King County provides services and community information in multiple languages both online and at our Public Health Centers. This section of our website is an index of all the materials available in each of these languages. Selected languages are based on local demographics in King County and level of frequency of those requesting medical interpreters in our clinics.
- Seattle Children's Hospital - Recursos en EspañolEncuentre enlaces a información relevante sobre la salud de familias y niños.
- SPIRAL - Asian Language Health InfoSelected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages
Loading...
