Search for Published Info
PubMed
To find the best peer-reviewed medical journal articles, search PubMed. From the USA's National Library of Medicine, PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
An international index to African health literature and information sources. This index is called African Index Medicus (AIM) and is produced by The World Health Organization, in collaboration with the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA).
POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE)
Contains citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
Instant PubMed Searches on Cancer in Africa
Click on the titles below to get an up-to-date search on the topic in PubMed.
The searches labeled “free full text” will only get articles with links to the entire text of the article for free and will not retrieve citations to articles for which the publisher charges or those that are available only after logging into Hinari.
Publications on cancer or HIV/AIDS by researchers at Makerere University or the Uganda Cancer Institute - includes articles without free full text
Cancer Care Costs in Developing Countries - includes articles without free full text
Screening for cancer in Africa – free full text
Tumor virus infections in Africa – free full text
Brain Cancer in Africa – free full text
Breast Cancer in Africa – free full text
Burkitt Lymphoma in Africa - free full text
Cervical Cancer Screening in Africa- free full text
Cervical cancer Surgery or Therapy in Africa- free full text
Esophageal Cancer in Africa – free full text
Kaposi Sarcoma in Central Africa - free full-text
Laryngeal Cancer in Africa – free full text
Leukemia in Africa – free full text
Liver Cancer in Africa – free full text
Lung Cancer in Africa – free full text
Lymphomas in Africa – free full text
Prostate Cancer in Africa – free full text
Stomach Cancer in Africa – free full text
Search Library Catalogs for Books
- Makerere University Library Online Catalog
- LocatorPlus - online catalog of the USA's National Library of Medicine
- The USA's Library of Congress Catalog
- WorldCatWorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
Finding, Organizing, and Using Medical Information Video Series
This is the Finding, Organizing and Using Medical Information Series, created by the Network of African Medical Librarians and Deans, with support from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Greetings from Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) President:
- Module 1, Information Sources:
- Module 2, Searching Tools:
- Module 3, Searching Techniques:
- Module 4, Organizing & Managing Information:
- Module 5, The Importance of Intellectual Property Rights in the Learning & Research Process:
- Module 6, Evaluation of Information:
- Module 7, Scholarly Communications:
- Modules 1-7 (French version):
- Modules 1-7 (Portuguese version):
Free Ebooks in Statistics & Math
Nature Scitable
Scitable ia a
free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by
Nature Publishing Group, the world's leading publisher of science.
Scitable currently concentrates on genetics,
the study of evolution, variation, and the rich complexity of living
organisms. As you cultivate your understanding of modern genetics on
Scitable, you will explore not only what we know about genetics and the
ways it impacts our society, but also the data and evidence that
supports our knowledge.
Acronyms
Biology & Medical Dictionaries
General Purpose Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and More
Search the Oxford English Dictionary
- Dictionary.com
- http://www.infoplease.com/Combining the contents of an encyclopedia, a dictionary, and several up-to-the minute almanacs loaded with statistics, facts, and historical records, Information Please places the resources of an entire reference information at you fingertips. It covers topics such as sports, entertainment, news, and business.
- Merriam-Webster Dictionary
- Online Etymology Dictionary Etymologies are not definitions; they're explanations of what our words meant and how they sounded 600 or 2,000 years ago.
- Reference.com
- Shahi Visual Dictionary
- Thesaurus
Wordreference.com
Translations to and from English and 15 languagues
Get Free Acrobat Reader Software
Cure4Kids - Health Professionals
Cure 4 Kids provides continuing medical education focusing on cancer, pediatrics, oncology, and global communication tools to health care professionals and scientists worldwide.
Registration is required, but is free. CLICK ON "REGISTER in the left column."
Writing Research Papers
Step by Step Research & Writing
Step 1 - Getting Started
Step 2 - Discovering and Choosing a Topic
Step 3 - Looking for and Forming a Focus
Step 4 - Gathering Information
Step 5 - Preparing to Write
Step 6 - Writing the Paper
Manage Citations
Manage citations with Zotero, or EndNote!
- Collect bibliographic references, pdf's, images, and web pages.
- Organize collections by project or topic.
- Tag, append notes, attach files and search your items.
- Insert citations and create bibliographies in Microsoft Word and OpenOffice.
Using EndNote
Start building your library- There are several ways to add to your citation database including imports from online data vendors and manual creation of records.
Searching your library - Easily locate the reference or references your searching for.
Organize your library - Use groups to organize your library. You can save references to more than one group for easy access or remove from groups without deleting the citation.
Create a bibliography - Choose from hundreds of output styles to customize your bibliography or create your own!
Cite While You Write - Cite While You Write is a plug-in for your word processing application. Format your in-text citations and bibliography while you write your paper.
Detailed tutorials and help for all EndNote or EndNote Web features are available on EndNote's support pages.
Using Zotero
Zotero is a free Firefox extension that allows you to collect, manage, cite, & share research sources.
Why use Zotero?
- It's free, open source, and extensible.
- Integrated in the web browser so there is no software to install.
- Ability to easily use and sync your library from multiple computers.
Getting Started:
- Zotero's Quick Start Guide helps with downloading, installing and using it.
- First time users must sign up for an individual account, after that log-in with your Log-in Name and Password.
- To use Zotero with Mircosoft Word and OpenOffice you will need to first install the word processor plugin for the application you are using.
Start building your library - There are several ways to add to your citation database including importing items that Zotero automatically finds on web pages, conversion from other bibliographic software such as RefWorks and Endnote, retrieval of items based on unique identifier, and the manual creation of records.
Organize your library - Use folders and tags to organize your library by project or topic.
Searching your library - Search on metadata, tags, or content to find items in your collection. Zotero also support full text indexing of pdf's.
Create a bibliography - Automatically create bibliographies from cited items within the word processor. Or create bibliographies manually and import them into your document.
Citing items - Insert citations, footnotes, and endnotes directly from the word processing software. Include multiple sources for the same citation. Quickly change the citation style for the whole document.
Collaborate- Share your citations lists with colleagues by creating a group. Groups have their own web page and members can add, edit, and delete items. Groups can be set to public or private.
How to Cite Other People's Work
- Purdue's Guide to Using Research in your own WritingThe Purdue University Writing Lab and Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Style Guides
- APA Style
- Chicago Manual of Style, 15th Edition
- National Library of Medicine (NLM) Style Guide2nd Edition, 2007
- The Elements of StyleFull text of Strunk's 1918 edition
English Usage
- Common Errors in English Usage
- Springer ExemplarExemplar searches over 1,900 journals from Springer’s collection to find authentic examples of how a word or phrase is used in published literature.
- Bartlett's QuotationsContains over 11,000 searchable quotations
- Big Dog's GrammarA great, quick overview of the bare essentials of grammar.
- English Irregular VerbsA handy table of the present and past tense forms of commonly used irregular verbs.
- English Irregular NounsTable with the singular and plural forms of commonly used but irregular nouns
- Academic Writing Guidance from Purdue University's Writing LabThe OWL resources range from rhetorical approaches for writing, to document organization, to sentence level work, such as clarity.
- Things That Make Us [Sic] by Martha BrockenbroughTop 10 Grammar Tips like:
- Me, myself & I
- Is it “good” or “well”?
- Less vs. fewer
- Which vs. that and more...
Thesis Generator
Thesis Builder
ThesisBuilders are tools to help students:
- Find a topic (see example topic questions?)
- Create a good thesis statement (see an example?)
- And generate an outline (see an example?)
Cornell Style Note Taking
Detailed Example of a couple of ways that you can take notes. The Cornell method is best when the information is given in a sequential, orderly fashion and allows for more detail. The semantic web/map method works best for instructors who skip around from topic to topic, and provides a "big picture" when you're previewing materials or getting ready to study for a test.
UCI/Hutchinson Center Cancer Alliance
About UCI/Hutchinson Center Cancer Alliance
In 2004, Dr. Corey Casper of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center initiated a collaboration with Dr. Jackson Orem, Director of the Uganda Cancers Institute (UCI) that became known as the UCI/Hutchinson Center Cancer Alliance.
Learn more at http://www.fhcrc.org/science/vidd/programs/upcid/.
How to Read a Scientific Paper
How to Find Quality Information
More information is available than ever before, and you can access information from across the country or around the world. But finding what you want requires more skill on the part of the researcher.
This website covers these critical research techniques:
- Learning to Research in the Library
- Information Found—and Not Found—on the Web
- Learning to Research on the Web
- Search Strategy: Getting a Broad Overview of a Subject
- Skills for Online Searching
- Search Strategy: Finding Specific Information
Is this Quality Information?
Data of all the scientific evidence for popular health supplements by David McCandless and Andy Perkins.
Many of the health claims made by the $23 billion supplements industry are based on non-human trials. We wanted to cut through that.
We looked at the abstracts of over 1500 studies on PubMed (run by US National Library Of Medicine) and Cochrane.org (which hosts meta-studies of scientific research).
You can see our key results in this spreadsheet. (It’s the same spreadsheet that generates the interactive image).
Population and Health Metrics
- Institute for Health Metrics (IHM)A collaboration between hospitals and researchers to study patterns of medical care and ways to improve the effectiveness, safety and efficiency of patient care using health information technologies.
- Population Health Metrics
- The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)An independent research center at the University of Washington rigorously measuring the world’s most pressing health issues and providing scientific evaluations of health system and health program performance in order to guide health policy and accelerate global health progress.
- The global fundA global public/private partnership dedicated to attracting and disbursing additional resources to prevent and treat HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis and malaria.
- Health Metrics NetworkHMN and its network of partners engage in a variety of work highlighting how accurate, reliable information leads to effective decision making resulting in better health outcomes.
- Sustainable Development and Healthy EnvironmentPromoting healthy environment is about assessing, correcting, controlling and mitigating environmental factors that can adversely affect health of present and future generations.
- Washington Global Health Alliance (WGHA)Works to enhance and expand Washington’s global health impact and showcase our region’s role as a leading center for global health activities.
Global and National Statistics Sources
- Global Health FactsFrom the Kaiser Family Foundation
- List of National Statistical Agencies
- NationMaster"NationMaster.com allows users to build charts that measure and compare countries on a wide range of information, there are some 4,350 stats available for exploration, from sources including the CIA World Factbook, the World Health Organization, UNESCO, the United Nations and the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. "
- SourceOECDFrom the Organization for Economic Co-Operation & Development...SourceOECD is the OECD's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books and Periodicals.
- United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF): Monitoring and Statistics
- United Nations Statistical Databases
- Washington State Dept of Health - Center for Health Statistics
- WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
- World Bank Data and Research
- World Development Indicators (WDI) OnlineFrom the World Bank Group
Research Ethics - General Resources
- Bioethics.netFrom Columbia University's Graduate Program in Bioethics, Bioethics.net was founded in 1993 as the first bioethics website. Bioethics.net and The American Journal of Bioethics (AJOB) have grown to become the most read source of information about bioethics.
- National Reference Center for Bioethics LiteratureFrom the Library in Kennedy Institute of Ethics at Georgetown University.
- FHCRC's Research Ethics Education ProgramThe program includes lectures, panel discussions, web-based training, colloquia, and case study discussion groups that provide staff and students with a variety of opportunities to engage in discussion and education on the responsible conduct of research. All postdoctoral researchers, clinical fellows, and graduate students are required to complete six ethics events while at FHCRC.
- Office of Research IntegrityThe Office of Research Integrity (ORI) promotes integrity in biomedical and behavioral research supported by the U.S. Public Health Service (PHS) at about 4,000 institutions worldwide. ORI monitors institutional investigations of research misconduct and facilitates the responsible conduct of research (RCR) through educational, preventive, and regulatory activities.
Research Ethics - Teaching Materials and Support
Resources for Teaching Research Ethics
Responsible Conduct of Research Education Consortium (RCREC) and the Online Resource for RCR Instructors
FHCRC is a member of this national organization that promotes education in the responsible conduct of research. This site includes RCR topic lists, delivery methods, tools for the effective teaching of research ethics, and connections to the programs of other institutions and to national RCR events.
Teaching Ethics for Research, Scholarship, & Practice, from of the University of Minnesota, offers a wide variety of resources for teaching the responsible conduct of research.
Research ethics and instructional materials from NIH. Includes policies, ethics cases by topic area, and web sites to handout during case study discussion groups.
Ethics and Public Health: A Model Curriculum
Web-based modules sponsored by the Association of Schools of Public Health. These 9 modules explore aspects of ethics and public health.
RCR Educational Resources from the Office of Research Integrity
An extensive resource of educational tools for many topic areas in the research ethics. This includes multimedia presentations and online training.
Wolfram Alpha
Enter your question or calculation and Wolfram|Alpha uses its built-in algorithms and a growing collection of data to compute the answer.
Take the tour to learn more about WolframAlpha .
Loading...
