What is My NCBI?
My NCBI allows you to customize your interactions with PubMed and other NCBI databases.
You can save PubMed search strategies and search results, organize & share citation lists via the My NCBI Collections feature, and use the My Bibliography feature to manage your own publication list for grant applications and progress reports.
Customize Searches by Setting the "Outside Tool" Preference
MyNCBI has preferences that you can set to customize your Pubmed experience. The "Outside Tool" preference is important because it tells Pubmed which subscribing institution you belong to. Simply follow these detailed steps to enable the "Outside Tool" preference on your account.

- Under the Table of Contents at the top left sidebar, locate the "Preferences" link.
- Choose "PubMed Preferences" and then click on "Outside Tool".
- An alphabetical list of institutions will display. Choose "F" and click in the circle to the left of Fred Hutchinson to select this as your "Outside Tool" and then click save.
This option enables Pubmed to recognize you as a Hutch subscriber even if you didn't access Pubmed from the library's homepage link. As long as you are logged into your MyNCBI account, you will be recognized by PubMed as a Hutch subscriber, even if you are off campus and not on the Hutch network.
The "Outside Tool" option provides easier access to FHCRC actual subscribed full-text articles via the FHCRC Get Article button, which appears to the right of the generic full-text button. By utilizing the FHCRC Get Article button, you will be assured of accessing the Arnold library online subscription, instead of the publisher site.

Get a My NCBI Account
Create a My NCBI account
What can My NCBI do for me?
- Save your searches in PubMed
- Periodically edit and/or re-run your searches as needed
- Set email alerts to notify you when new research is published that meets your criteria
- Apply filters to organize your search results in PubMed and other NCBI databases
- Filter by free full text results including PubMed Central
- Limit your searches to studies published within in certain timeframe
- Create unique citation collections based on your search criteria
- Use collection settings to share your collection with others
- Maintain your publication list using My Bibligraphy for use in grant applications and progress reports
- Assign delegate status to your administrator
- Delegates can maintain Bibliography lists and use the NIHPA Compliance tool
- Assign delegate status to your administrator
- Use My Bibliography tools to maintain compliance with the NIH Public Access policy
Check NIH Public Access Compliance
NIH Compliance Tool
- For My NCBI Accounts linked to eRA Commons accounts, you can now easily view NIH Public Access Policy compliance via My Bibliography.
- From the My Bibliography Screen, click the “$”
button.
- The citation view will change to show your
citations along with NIH Public Access Policy compliance
- Green dots indicate compliance is completed
- Yellow dots indicate articles that are in process and have not stalled.
- Red dots indicate the paper is not compliant, whether due to non-submission or a stall in the NIHMS review and approval process
- Articles accepted before April 7, 2008 or outside of PMC requirements will show as “N/A”
- The citation view will change to show your
citations along with NIH Public Access Policy compliance
Subject Guide |



Loading...
